After ten years of success, listening, and learning, the National Standards for U.S. Community Foundations™ are being revised for 2015.

2014 Relaunch of National Standards

Community foundations provide a simple, powerful, and highly personal approach to giving. As public charities devoted to local communities, they offer a variety of giving tools to help people achieve their charitable goals—and create lasting community good.

Developed in the spirit of accountability, transparency and continuous self-improvement, National Standards for U.S. Community Foundations are evidence that community foundations seek excellence for their communities and their donors.

Sound Policies and Practices

National Standards guide the sound policies and practices that help community foundations achieve results and impact. Hundreds of community foundations proudly display the official National Standards seal that signifies their compliance and distinguishes them as a smart investment for philanthropists. Intended as a blueprint for internal organizational development and as a tangible set of benchmarks for external assessment of performance, the 41 National Standards address six key areas of community foundation operations:

  • Mission, structure and governance
  • Resource development
  • Stewardship and accountability
  • Grantmaking and community leadership
  • Donor relations
  • Communications
Tips to get your community foundation started on the road to compliance